Week B8 – Art Experience – Zines

For this week, I decided to do a zine since I wanted to try something new because I never heard of a zine prior to this week. I was suprised when I looked it up because I found out that it was just short for a magazine. I got two sheets of blank printer paper at first and then put two staples in the papers to make a binding, since I wasn’t able to find a needle and thread to make the binding. I wanted to come up with an overall theme that for my zine, and I ended up doing a hero theme and my zine was called “The Hero Within”.

30725625_2509989705693400_539239169851916288_n.jpg

The following page when you flip through the zine was where I drew buildings with a Batman symbol shining in the sky. This would help represent the need for a Hero, which in this case would be Batman just like in the comics and in the movie series. This picture would help set the scene of a city needing a hero to come out to help save the day as usual. The next page after that would be a picture of a cat being stuck in a tree and a firefighter having to climb a ladder to help get the cat down the tree. In this picture, the hero would be the firefighter.

30710275_2509989749026729_1083699473747542016_n.jpg

The next page would be of “I ♡ YOU MOM” because parents are typically people’s heroes since they raised you and helped shape you into the man or woman that people end up becoming. In this case, I wanted to put mom since my mom is my own hero because she has made so much sacrifices for me. She is the most selfless person in the world, so I wanted to use her for the center page of my zine. The following page after that would be just some quotes of who heroes actually are. Anyone can be a hero in the world and they don’t need to have any superpowers or have a special cape to be considered a hero. All you have to do is just think of others whenever you do something and always want to help out to make the world a better place for all.

30728504_2509989799026724_2581895624072888320_n

The last two pages of my zine would be a picture of the Avengers Emblem. I wanted to use this emblem because most people know who the Avengers are based on the Marvel Films since there are over a dozen of their films out there. The Avengers consists of a team of superheroes who are able to save the world from crime, which is why they are heroes. The last page of my zine was a picture of the buildings which connects to the first page. The person in the picture is Batman because I wanted to make the first page and the last page connect together to be one giant scene even though there are pages in between them when you flip through the zine.

30715775_2509989835693387_8492697936872865792_n.jpg

Overall, I had a great time making my zine since I was able to use my own ideas and drawings. I thought that having a Heroes theme would be really good because I was able to add a page just for my mom since she is my own hero. I would like to do more in the future as the project is simple and doesn’t require a lot of extra materials since you only need paper, a pencil, something to make a binding, and colors if you want. In the future, I would like to try using a needle and thread to make the binding work more smoothly. I would also like to incorporate some color in the future to make my zine stand out more. I didn’t use that much color in my zine because I felt like it didn’t need much color and it ended up looking really great.

 

Leave a comment